Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake

I was told by a friend of mine how great a book Anna Dressed in Blood was. This book is based on the paranormal, dark voodoo magic, and adventure of a boy fulfilling his fathers legacy as a sort of exorcist killing ghosts or spirits. When I dove into the book I could not believe how interesting it was or the fact that I could not put it down. I have always been a critic on paranormal novels, shows, and movies but still found myself thinking about the different views Blake’s setting had about what the afterlife held.

untitledgfhIn this novel the main character, Cas Lowood, travels the country with his Witch Mother and spirit sniffing Cat in order to find the spirits who are harming the living . With his athame, or dagger, Cas hunts spirits who he finds to be dangerous and kills them which sends the spirit to a realm unknown. Cas is especially looking for the one malevolent spirit who had murdered his father years before. If a spirit does not harm the living then he makes an exception and lets them “live” dead. These rules have applied for every spirit he has come in contact with.

That is, until Cas met Anna. The one disturbing thing is that anyone who has met Anna has never lived to tell the tale. From heart pumping madness to bringing me sheer tears, this novel was one of the best I have read. I was so inspired by this story that I actually created my own piece of art for it. Enjoy the book and tell me what you thought about it!

Leave a Reply

